European PlayStation Network To Undergo Maintenance This Thursday

December 12, 2011 Written by Rae Langdon

You might want to cancel your plans for that all night sessions of Uncharted 3 multiplayer this Thursday. Sony announced today that the EU PlayStation Network will be undergoing maintenance in just under 96 hours.

The scheduled maintenance will begin at 4pm GMT (11am EST) on Thursday 15th and is expected to last roughly 10 hours till 2am GMT (9pm EST). There’s been no word on whether the US will have a similar downtime, but usually some maintenance occurs worldwide whenever the European network is taken offline. Sony said on the European PS Forums:

Users who attempt to Sign in during the maintenance window may receive a maintenenace message.

Users who are already signed into the PlayStation Network should not be affected.

No specific reason or focus was given for the downtime. Since the PSN hack that occurred last April, security focused downtime has become the norm. Better safe than sorry I suppose. No one wants to deal with another massive outage.

What will you do during the lengthy downtime? Are there any specific single player trophies that you are chasing? Thursday night might be the perfect time to try and obtain them.