PSLS.net Home

PlayStation Plus Members on PS4 in North America & Europe Experiencing Errors, Sony Investigating

December 9, 2013 Written by Jason Dunning

playstationplus3

Earlier today, PlayStation Europe Community Manager Chris Owen revealed on Twitter that “anyone on #PS4 getting the message ‘You need PlayStation Plus to play online’, there is no problem with your subscription. We are investigating ATM.” He continued by saying this is “an issue our side,” and some of the problems that occur will be the restriction of online play for your games, along with the inability to download Resogun or Contrast for free.

According to the Killzone Twitter account, “The issue seems to be related to PSN and is expanding to US.” They’ve also given us the latest status update by saying, “Unfortunately, no news yet regarding the ongoing PSN outage. Sony engineers are currently working on a solution. We’ll keep you posted…”

With PSN maintenance happening today to increase the number of handhelds allowed on your PSN account, it’s possible that the PlayStation Plus issue won’t be completely fixed until the maintenance period is over.

Here’s when you can expect the maintenance:

  • Pacific Time: 9AM to 2PM on December 9th
  • Eastern Time: 12PM to 5PM on December 9th
  • GMT: 5PM on December 9th to 12AM on December 10th

Have you been experiecing any problems with PlayStation Plus today? Let us know in the comments below.