PSA: PSN Down for Scheduled Maintenance Today, October 13 (Update 3)

October 13, 2014 Written by Jason Dunning

psnmaintenancedog

Update 3:

If you’re experiencing issues with the PlayStation Network today, October 16, follow the latest over here.

Update 2:

Everything’s back up and running normally.

Update:

With the maintenance, Sony has changed the status of the PSN to offline.

As well, the wording was changed slightly on what you’re able to access during the maintenance, with Sony now saying, “If you have signed in to PSN within 5 days prior to the start of maintenance, you may be able to play games online and enjoy apps such as Netflix, HULU Plus and Music Unlimited during this maintenance period.”

While you wait for the PSN to be fully back online, feel free to check out what’s coming to the PlayStation Store tomorrow in North America, as well as the new releases this week.

Original Story:

In order to “deploy a series of back-end improvements to the network,” there will be some PSN downtime today, October 13, with the scheduled maintenance expected to last for about seven hours.

Here’s when the maintenance will be taking place today:

Starts

  • October 13 – 10am PT/1pm ET/18:00 BST

Ends

  • October 13 – 5pm PT/8pm ET
  • October 14 – 01:00 BST

Anyone who logged in to the PSN since October 8 will be able to play online and use apps such as Netflix normally. However, access to the PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home, and Account Management will be unavailable, and you may receive maintenance notifications when trying to use these services.

For PS4 owners specifically, you won’t be able to view the What’s New, Live, and Library areas, with Share functions also being impacted by the maintenance.

If for some reason the maintenance gets extended or the PSN fully goes down, we’ll let you know.

[Source: US PlayStation Forums, EU PlayStation Forums, PlayStation Support]

In the meantime, you can check out our list of suggestions on what to do when PSN is down in the gallery below.

Essential Reading: