PSN Online After Maintenance Today, November 17 (Update 2)

November 17, 2014 Written by Jason Dunning

psnmaintenancedog

Update 2:

Ask PlayStation revealed at 12:50pm PT that “PSN maintenance has completed ahead of schedule. Happy gaming!”

Update:

The PlayStation Support website has updated again to reveal that the maintenance is only going to last the originally planned six hours.

After saying how this maintenance is being done to “continue to deliver you the best online games experience,” the added:

During this maintenance period, you may receive a message that states “Sony Entertainment Network is undergoing maintenance” when attempting to access the PlayStation Store or PlayStation Home. If you have signed in to PSN within 5 days prior to the start of maintenance, you may be able to play games online and enjoy apps such as Netflix, HULU Plus and Music Unlimited during this maintenance period.

PS4 users will not be able to view the What’s New, Live, and Library areas of their console. Share functions will be impacted as well.

The original story has been updated to reflect the timing change.

Original Story:

Running for six hours today so Sony can “deploy a series of back-end improvements to the network,” the PlayStation Network is undergoing maintenance today, meaning that the PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home, and Account Management will be unavailable for everyone, while others may be unable to play online.

Here’s when the PSN maintenance is taking place:

  • Begins: 9am PT/12pm ET/17:00 GMT
  • Ends: 3pm PT/6pm ET/23:00 GMT

If you’ve signed in to the PSN at any point since November 13, your details will be cached and you’ll be able to play games online and access apps like Netflix. For those of you who haven’t signed in recently, you won’t be able to sign-in to your account or “begin an online gaming session” during the maintenance.

Although the maintenance is scheduled to end at 3pm PT/6pm ET/23:00 GMT, PlayStation warns: “There may be some additional downtime after the maintenance period for testing purposes.”

[Source: PlayStation Support]

Essential Reading: