PSN Maintenance Happening on Thursday, January 15

January 13, 2015 Written by Jason Dunning

psnmaintenancedog

As the PlayStation Network status page still displays a “Heavy Network Traffic” warning, Sony has announced that scheduled PSN maintenance is happening on Thursday, January 15. As per usual, this is being done to “deploy a series of back-end improvements to the network.”

Scheduled to last for four hours, here’s when you can expect the maintenance to take place:

Begins

  • 9am PT/12pm ET/17:00 GMT

Ends

  • 1pm PT/4pm ET/21:00 GMT

Even if you’ve logged in to the PSN recently, there’s going to be restrictions in online functionality:

For the duration of the maintenance you will be unable to log in to Account Management and the PS Store. PS Home will also be unavailable.

PS4 users will be unable to access the ‘What’s New’ feed, ‘Live Items’ or their ‘Library’. ‘Share’ features will also be affected by the maintenance. The majority of other features such as online gaming, the Friends List, Parties, messaging and video/music services should be available.

PS3 and PS Vita users may experience limited PSN functionality, however online gameplay will be available to users who have recently signed into their SEN account and have their authentication details cached.

If you haven’t signed in to the PSN recently and had your details cached, you won’t be able to sign in to your account or play online during the maintenance.

As Sony adds, “There may be some additional downtime after the maintenance period for testing purposes.”

We’ll be sure to remind you of the PSN maintenance on Thursday.

[Source: US PlayStation Forums, EU PlayStation Forums, PlayStation UK]