PSA: PSN Down For Scheduled Maintenance Today, February 12 (Update)

February 12, 2015 Written by Jason Dunning

playstationdownpic4

Update:

Sony has set the PSN Status back to Online and removed the maintenance warning. Everything should be back up and running normally now.

Original Story:

Following a night of some PlayStation Network connectivity issues, the PSN will be down today for scheduled maintenance today “in order to continue to deliver you the best online games experience.”

As a reminder, here’s when the 3.5 hour maintenance is expected to begin and end, though times are always subject to change:

Begins

  • 9am PT/12pm ET/17:00 GMT

Ends

  • 12:30pm PT/3:30pm ET/20:30 GMT

For PlayStation 4 owners, your console must be activated as the Primary System to access certain features during the maintenance, including online play and apps. However, you won’t be able to the What’s New, Live, or Library, with Share functions being impacted as well.

For PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita owners, you may be able to access online play and apps if you’ve signed in to the PSN within the last five days.

Sony also issued this statement:

During this maintenance period, you may receive a message that states “Sony Entertainment Network is undergoing maintenance” when attempting to access the PlayStation Store or PlayStation Home. If you have signed in to PSN within 5 days prior to the start of maintenance, you may be able to play games online and enjoy apps suchSony: Buy Sega, Get These 12 Dynamite Games on PS4 & Vita! Netflix, HULU Plus and Music Unlimited during this maintenance period.

As always, we’ll keep an eye on the maintenance and let you know of any changes.

[Source: PlayStation Forums, Knowledge Center]

Essential Reading: