PSA: PlayStation Home Closes Its Doors Today for Good Today

March 31, 2015 Written by Jason Dunning

playstationhome2

As announced last September, Sony will be closing the doors of PlayStation Home today, officially ending the service that began in December 2008.

In a posting on the PlayStation Forums, Community Coordinator LordRoss announced exactly when service will end on April 1:

  • 12am PT
  • 3am ET
  • 8am BST
  • 4pm JST

If you’re hoping for something like PlayStation Home on PlayStation 4, Project Nebula from Kovok aims to bring a 3D interactive world where players can use their custom avatar to to socialize, play games, explore, and customize 3D spaces.

Speaking with AlphaZone4 recently, a Kovok representative revealed that the Project Nebula beta is scheduled for November 2015:

We are currently on the process of building a virtual world for the PS4 called Project Nebula. Project Nebula will have the same social interactions as PlayStation Home but with the next generation technology, endless possibilities for avatar customization and we will support Oculus Rift and Project Morpheus. We will start small just like Home did and grow with the ideas, suggestions and creativity of the community. Everyone will vote and decide the progression of the platform. Beta release is scheduled for November of 2015.

Will you be entering PlayStation Home one last time today?

[Source: PlayStation Forums, AlphaZone4 via Gamasutra, PSU]