PSA: PSN Down for Scheduled Maintenance Tonight, Expected to Last Two Hours (Update)

May 11, 2015 Written by Jason Dunning

psn_1

Update (May 12, 2pm PT):

Following the maintenance last night, Sony has confirmed that there are some PSN issues affecting PlayStation 3 users right now:

You may be experiencing issues related to launching games, applications, and/or social features such as trophies, messaging, or friends list. We appreciate your patience while we address this.

You can follow along to the PSN’s status over here.

Original Story:

As announced last week, the PlayStation Network is undergoing some maintenance tonight, with the downtime expected to last for about two hours:

Starts

  • May 11 – 9pm PT
  • May 12 – 12am ET/4am GMT

Ends

  • May 11 – 11pm PT
  • May 12 – 2am ET/6am GMT

Using the time to “deploy a series of back-end improvements to the network,” you won’t be able to access the PlayStation Store, PlayStation Video, or Account Management during the maintenance.

If you own a PlayStation 4 and want to continue playing online during the maintenance, make sure it’s activated as your Primary PS4 and you sign in to the PSN before the maintenance begins.

If you own a PlayStation 3 or PlayStation Vita, “As long as you have signed into the network prior to maintenance you will be able to log in and access most games online.”

As Sony adds on their PSN Status Page: “We endeavor to ensure that PlayStation Network services are available at all times. However, occasionally PlayStation Network may need to be taken offline so we can perform essential maintenance and implement feature enhancements.”

When you notice the PSN is fully operational for you again, please let everyone know in the comments below.