Destiny Offline Today for Up to Six Hours (Update)

June 22, 2015 Written by Jason Dunning

destinyscreenshotmay152

Update (1:10pm PT):

As Bungie just tweeted: “Destiny servers are back online. You are free to move about the Solar System. And shoot things.”

If you’re looking for patch notes, they added, “This was an update behind the scenes to serve future plans. Your player experience remains unchanged. Thus, no Notes.”

Original Story:

Due to scheduled maintenance, Bungie is taking Destiny offline for up to six hours today on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, and Xbox 360.

Officially starting at 8am PT/11am ET, Destiny could remain offline until 4pm PT/7pm ET if Bungie needs the full six hours:

Bungie added in a follow-up tweet: “The work we’re doing today will lay the groundwork for future updates. Your player experience will not change.”

As you may have noticed earlier today, Trials of Osiris was temporarily disabled. Bungie says, “It will be re-enabled once maintenance is complete.”

We’ll continue to update this post with any news from Bungie as the maintenance occurs throughout the day.

If you missed our previous coverage, Bungie announced Destiny: The Taken King at E3 2015 last week. Priced at $40 on its own or $60 in a complete Destiny package, you can see the announcement trailer, learn about the new subclasses, and read our thoughts.

What will you be doing while Destiny is offline?

[Source: Bungie (Twitter, 2)]

Essential Reading: