Street Fighter V PS4 Beta Includes Six Characters and Three Stages, Won’t Have Local Versus

July 7, 2015 Written by Jason Dunning

streetfightervbeta1

Available exclusively on PlayStation 4, the Street Fighter V beta begins on July 23 at 6pm PT/9pm ET in the United States and Canada, and July 24 at around 2.00am BST/3.00am CEST in Europe.

Saying the “data that we receive from this beta will help us to improve the net code in the final product,” Capcom confirmed there will be six characters in the beta. You’ll start out with Ryu, M.Bison, Chun-Li, and Nash, with Birdie and Cammy being added on Saturday, July 25. The reason for the delay is that “in addition to testing out the net code, we’re also testing out our new content delivery system.”

Capcom then discussed the Gameplay Flow and Stages in the beta:

Gameplay Flow

When players boot the game up and go past the start screen, they’ll be taken to the character select screen. Players should choose the character they would like to fight others with, as they will not be able to select a different character before heading into battle. Once they select their character, players will be placed into training mode while an opponent is found. Upon finding an opponent, players will be transported back to the versus screen and begin their match shortly thereafter. After the match is complete, players will then be brought back to the Grid where they will go back into queue for the next match.

Unfortunately there will be no local versus mode during this beta. Once again, the primary purpose of this beta is to test the online functionality.

Stages

While players are awaiting their match, they’ll be training in the Grid. Versus matches will take place in either the Bustling Side Street (China), Terminal Station (London), or in the brand new stage the Forgotten Waterfall.

Each of the stages has been inspired by various locales throughout the world with the Forgotten Waterfall’s inspiration being directly pulled from New Zealand.

In the US and Canada, you can receive access to the beta by pre-ordering the game at GameStop, Amazon, Best Buy, or through the PlayStation Store. Physical pre-orders will have their Beta key emailed on July 20, with digital pre-orders requiring you to manually download the Beta client from the PlayStation Store after July 20.

In Europe, you can sign-up over here until July 15. Those selected will receive an email on July 24 with further instructions.

[Source: US PS Blog, EU PS Blog]