PSA: Destiny Offline for Maintenance Today (Update)

September 3, 2015 Written by Jason Dunning

destinyhouseofwolves2

Update 2:

Update:

If you were thinking that the maintenance was for a new patch launching today, DeeJ said, “No Patch Notes today. We’ll cover some basic 2.0 previews in the Weekly Update. Today is just a ‘Pardon our Dust’ moment.”

Original Story:

Beginning at 8am PT/11am ET/4pm BST, Destiny will be offline for approximately six hours today on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, and Xbox 360 due to maintenance.

Expected to end at 2pm PT/5pm ET/10pm BST, here’s what Bungie has to say about the maintenance:

  • Players signed in shortly before maintenance will receive prior notice via in-game messaging.
  • Once maintenance is concluded, all services and Destiny login functionality will be restored.
  • Additionally, some Bungie.net sign-in and Companion app services may be restricted during this time.

Asked about the timing of the maintenance during prime gaming time, Bungie Community Manager DeeJ said, “It’s when we have the most smart people in the building. Blame continental drift.”

This maintenance is likely being done to prep for Destiny update 2.0 on September 8 and Destiny: The Taken King on September 15.

While we don’t know full details about 2.0 quite yet, it will include major changes to weapons, replaces Peter Dinklage with Nolan North, increases the number of Bounties you can carry, and more. This update will require 18GB of free space on PS4 and 20GB of free space on PS3.

If you’re planning on buying The Taken King, remember that the King’s Fall Raid doesn’t go live until September 18.

We’ll keep you updated with any additional news from Bungie today as the maintenance progresses.

[Source: Bungie]

Essential Reading: