Rocket League Update in November Adds Custom Settings, Including Low Gravity & Ball Bounciness

October 28, 2015 Written by Jason Dunning

Scheduled for release in November, a free new Rocket League update on PlayStation 4 will allow you to “Mutate” your matches with a number of Presets and Custom settings.

Saying that Rocket League’s origins “are firmly rooted in the modes and mods of Unreal Tournament and its beloved sequels,” Psyonix VP of Marketing Jeremy Dunham talked about how Custom Matches will change your experience:

Want to play low-gravity “Moonball” with extra boost? It’s possible! Want to relive classic Supersonic Acrobatic Rocket-Powered Battle-Cars game modes like “Cubic” and “Time Warp?” You can!

Whatever your preference, you’ll be able to find your favorite gameplay combinations in just a few short weeks from now when Mutators invade Rocket League! Once they arrive, you’ll be able to create new Custom Matches with the rules and settings made especially from your tastes, while our sweet “Mutator Mashup” playlist allows you to enjoy pre-determined weirdo matches in public games like you’ve never seen them before.

The video also highlights these other custom settings: Ball Bounciness, Ball Size, Ball Max Speed, Ball Type, Ball Weight, Boost Amount, Boost Strength, Gravity, Match Length, Max Score, Pinball, Respawn Time, Slo-Mo, and Time Warp.

Psyonix will be doing a Twitch livestream tomorrow, October 29 at 2pm PT/5pm ET to demonstrate the new Mutator modes. Then, on November 3 at 1pm PT/4pm ET, they’ll be holding a Reddit AMA.

At the end of the video, Psyonix also appears to tease Rocket League hockey coming in December.

[Source: PS Blog]