Destiny Offline for Maintenance Today, Expected to Last Three Hours (Update)

November 12, 2015 Written by Jason Dunning

Destiny The Taken King Crucible video Header

Update 3:

The maintenance is now over:

Update 2:

Bungie extended it for another hour:

Update:

You’ll have to wait another hour for Destiny to be back online:

Original Story:

We don’t know if it’s because a new update is rolling out soon, or if Bungie is just doing general upkeep, but Destiny will be offline today for about three hours.

On their website, Bungie says players will be unable to log into Destiny beginning at 8am PT/11am ET/4pm UTC, with players being removed from activities at 9am PT/12pm ET/5pm UTC as the servers go offline for maintenance.

They expect the maintenance to conclude around 11am PT/2pm ET/7pm UTC.

Here’s what else you need to know about the maintenance:

  • Bungie.net sign-in and Companion app services may be restricted during this time.
  • Players signed in shortly before maintenance will receive prior notice via in-game messaging.
  • Once maintenance is concluded, all services and Destiny login functionality will be restored.

They also revealed today’s Daily Heroic is Lost to Light.

Yesterday, Bungie also updated the Destiny Companion App. Here’s all the patch notes:

General

  • Fixed issue that caused Hunter cloaks to interfere with masks when viewing 3D Guardian
  • Notifications are now aggregated in order to reduce the number of notifications sent to users
  • Fixed bug with reauthentication when retrieving Xbox friends list

Gear Manager

  • Enabled Gear Manager (Beta) for all web players
  • Fixed issue where Gear Manager would show an error if user had a classified item
  • Fixed issue where filters were not clearing when search was cleared
  • Fixed issue of Light not updating on equip
  • Maximize Light will now transfer items from other characters
  • Added splitting and consolidating options when transferring a stack of items
  • Added 3D preview of items
  • Changed sorting behavior so that equipped items no longer ignore sorting
  • Sorting will now be saved between page loads

Grimoire

  • Fixed stats on Cathedral of Dusk card
  • Fixed stats for Year 2 version of Exotic Weapons

We’ll let you know if the maintenance is extended or if it ends early.

[Source: Bungie (1), (2), (3)]

Essential Reading: