Uncharted 4 Multiplayer Open Weekend Doesn’t Require PlayStation Plus, Pre-Load Starts Today

March 1, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

uncharted4multiplayerscreenshot1

After the PlayStation Store leaked it yesterday, Naughty Dog has confirmed that an Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End multiplayer open weekend is running from March 4 at 9am PT/12pm ET/5pm GMT until March 6 at 11:59pm PT/2:59am ET/7:59am GMT on PlayStation 4.

Ranging from 7GB – 10GB, depending on your region, the multiplayer file is now available for pre-load in Europe, with North America getting it later today. In the FAQ, Naughty Dog says your progress won’t carry over to the full game and there will likely be patches, maintenance, and downtime during the test period.

You can learn about all the features in the test by checking out the FAQ.

Lead Game Designer Robert Cogburn explained that the test this weekend is designed to stress the servers:

We need your help to do all we can to have a smooth launch of our online Multiplayer mode. We will be hosting a Multiplayer Stress Test this weekend where the goal is to get as many people as possible playing in the Uncharted 4 Multiplayer mode to test our networking, our matchmaking, and more.

Please help us create the best multiplayer experience possible and participate in the stress test before launch. Also, and this is important because we want as many people playing as possible, a PlayStation Plus subscription is not required to participate.

He later added, “Please understand that this is strictly a stress test and by no means represents what the final multiplayer experience is going to be – we still have a lot to share between this stress test and launch.”

Naughty Dog will also be hosting Twitch streams on Friday, March 4, at 11:30am PT and 5:00pm PT.

Will you be playing Uncharted 4’s multiplayer this weekend?

[Source: PS Blog (1), (2)]