Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 Awakening DLC Free Weekend Starts Friday on PS4

March 30, 2016Written by Jason Dunning

callofdutyblackops3awakeningdlc

It’s going to be a busy weekend for Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 owners on PlayStation 4, with Activision and Treyarch offering both double XP and a free Awakening DLC trial.

For the Awakening DLC, all PS4 owners who downloaded the most recent update can access the expansion pack from Friday, April 1, at 10am PT/1pm ET until Monday, April 4, at 10am PT/1pm ET. This will allow you to check out the four multiplayer maps – Gauntlet, Splash, Rise, and Skyjacked – as well as the Der Eisendrache Zombies experience for free.

Here’s how to access the content:

Just jump into the Zombies menu and select Der Eisendrache from the map selection screen and you’re ready to start dispatching the undead in the Austrian Alps. To check out the new multiplayer maps, it’s as simple as jumping into the Awakening playlist or your preferred-mode-specific playlist from the Multiplayer menu—Awakening’s maps will automatically show up in the rotation.

For the double XP weekend, it also runs from Friday at 10am PT/1pm ET until Monday at 10am PT/1pm ET, offering double XP in Multiplayer and Zombies, and double weapon XP. It will be available on PS4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, Xbox 360, and PC.

As previously announced, Awakening comes to PS3 on April 5, with the second DLC pack for Black Ops 3 getting revealed tomorrow, March 31 at 11am PT/2pm ET.

[Source: Treyarch, Call of Duty, Activision]