PSN Maintenance Today, April 18, Lasts for Two Hours

April 18, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

psnmaintenancedog

Originally expected last week, Sony will be doing some PlayStation Network maintenance today, April 18, beginning at 9:30pm PT/12:30am ET and ending two hours later at 11:30pm PT/2:30am ET:

Routine maintenance and improvements for PlayStation Network will be performed for approximately 2 hours on 04/18/2016, [9:30pm PT] to 04/18/2016, [11:30pm PT].

The maintenance will affect PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Vita, and online users, but “anyone who already has an account can still sign in to their PlayStation Network profile, play games, and use most applications while this maintenance is carried out.” However, during the maintenance, PlayStation Store, PlayStation Video, and Account Management will be unavailable.

If you haven’t done so already, Sony suggests activating your PS4 as your primary console:

We recommend activating your PS4 as your primary console before maintenance begins so you can continue to play most games and use 3rd party services during maintenance. To activate your console, sign in to your PlayStation Network profile and select [Settings] > [PlayStation Network/Account Management] > [Activate as Your Primary PS4] > [Activate]. You only need to do this once.

Expect Sony to use this maintenance to “perform essential maintenance and implement feature enhancements.”

On Twitter, the Kaz Hirai parody account weighed in on the maintenance:

[Source: Ask PlayStation, PlayStation Network Status Page]