Overwatch Beta Is Now Open to Everyone, Includes Full Roster of Heroes & Maps

May 5, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

overwatchscreenshot555x3282

Running until Monday, May 9, at 10am PT/1pm ET/5pm UTC, the Overwatch open beta is now live on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC.

You can download the 11GB file from the PlayStation Store in North America and Europe and, as a bonus, a PlayStation Plus membership isn’t required for the beta (you’ll need one for the full game though).

Looking at the content included in the beta, Blizzard says, “Players will have access to Overwatch’s full roster of heroes, maps, and launch-day features – including Custom Games, Loot Boxes, and Weekly Brawl. We want players to get a feel for the complete Overwatch experience, so no content will be restricted or locked!”

So, you’ll be able to play as the 21 heroes across these four game modes and 12 maps:

  • Assault – Hanamura, Temple of Anubis, and Volskaya Industries
  • Escort – Dorado, Route 66, and Watchpoint: Gibraltar
  • Assault/Escort Hybrid – Hollywood, King’s Row, and Numbani
  • Control – Ilios, Lijiang Tower, and Nepal

All game modes and maps support 6v6 matches.

Answering some questions about the beta, Blizzard said that your progress won’t transfer to the full game and all progression will be reset at launch, cross-platform play won’t be available in the beta or at launch, you can stream as much as you want, and there’s no maintenance or downtime planned for the beta at any point.

The full Overwatch game will be released on May 24 for PS4, Xbox One, and PC.

Will you be playing the beta?

[Source: Play Overwatch]