Destiny Offline for Maintenance Today, June 10

June 9, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

Update 3 (June 10):

Due to errors, Destiny will be offline today, June 10, until 1pm PT/4pm ET:

Destiny will be down for maintenance to address issues causing NEWT, STORK, and WEASEL errors. Estimated downtime is 1 hour until 1PM PDT.

Update 2 (June 9):

Bungie Help now says, “Today’s maintenance is being extended by 1 hour until 2PM PDT. Thank you for your patience.”

Update:

Bungie Help says, “Today’s maintenance is being extended by 1 hour until 1PM PDT. Thank you for your patience.”

Original Story:

Ahead of the Destiny: Rise of Iron reveal later today at 10am PT/1pm ET, Bungie will be taking Destiny offline for roughly four hours today, June 9.

As detailed on their website, you’ll be unable to sign in at 8am PT/11am ET, with the maintenance then beginning one hour later:

  • Starting at 8:00 AM Pacific (3:00 PM UTC), players will not be able to log into Destiny in preparation for maintenance.
  • At 9:00 AM Pacific (4:00 PM UTC), players will be removed from activities as Destiny servers will be taken offline for maintenance.
  • Maintenance is expected to conclude before 1:00 PM Pacific (8:00 PM UTC).

Anyone signing in to Destiny shortly before the maintenance will receive an in-game message. During the maintenance, Bungie.net and Companion app services may be restricted. Once the maintenance is over, all services will be restored.

“This is NOT a ploy to make you watch our Reveal Stream,” Bungie joked. “But… if you need something to do then…”

We’ll have to wait until later today for official Rise of Iron details, but current leaks say it will launch on September 20 for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. You can check out a leaked version of the trailer above, which says pre-ordering the expansion gets you the Iron Gjallarhorn.

[Source: Bungie (1), (2)]

Essential Reading: