PSN Maintenance Scheduled for July 18, 2016

July 12, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

psn555x3281

Update: 

In case you’re being routed here, yes, PlayStation Network is currently down for a lot of people (7/13/2016). Check here for the latest updates and to know when it’s back online.

Original Story:

Coming through on their goal to reduce the time each maintenance period lasts, Sony has announced that this month’s PlayStation Network maintenance on Monday, July 18 will only last for one hour.

Running from 9:30pm PT (12:30am ET) until 10:30pm PT (1:30am ET), the PSN Maintenance on Monday will affect both the PS4 and PS3. According to Sony, it’s routine maintenance and will include some improvements for the PlayStation Network.

As usual, you can still sign in to your PSN profile during the maintenance, play games, and use most applications. However, you won’t be able to access Account Management, PlayStation Video, or the PlayStation Store.

For the best results during the maintenance, Sony suggests activating your PS4 as your primary console by following these steps: sign in to your PlayStation Network profile and select [Settings] > [PlayStation Network/Account Management] > [Activate as Your Primary PS4] > [Activate].

If you haven’t seen them yet, the PlayStation Store sales this week in North America include deals on past titles featured in the PLAY promotion.

[Source: PSN Status]

Essential Reading: