Destiny: Rise of Iron Cosmodrome Stream Announced, Major PS3 Update Support Ends August 16

July 15, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

destiny-rise-of-iron-screenshot1

As part of their latest weekly update, Bungie announced that the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions of Destiny will no longer be receiving major updates or content releases beginning on August 16:

Starting August 16th, 2016, Legacy Consoles will no longer receive major Destiny updates or content releases. On this date, the Account Import process will become available on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One Consoles. From this date forward, progression will no longer be shared between console generations within the same console family.

You can learn more about all the changes coming to Legacy Consoles over on Bungie’s support site.

Looking ahead to the Rise of Iron expansion, which is releasing on September 20 for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, Bungie announced that they’ll be doing a Cosmodrome Winter Tour on Wednesday, July 20 at 10am PT/1pm ET through Twitch.

“This will not be an incursion into the Plaguelands,” they add. “That’s for later. Before your adventures into new territories begin, you’re invited to join us for an exploration of how the world you know has changed with the passage of time.”

Next week will also see the return of Iron Banner Control, which will run from Tuesday, July 19 at 10am PT/1pm ET through Tuesday, July 26 at 2am PT/5am ET.

[Source: Bungie]