Street Fighter V Update Tomorrow Adds Quitting Penalties, VS CPU Option Coming Next Month

August 15, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

street-fighter-v-update-june303

In the upcoming Street Fighter V August Update, Capcom will be adding penalties for Rage Quitters in an effort to reduce the amount of players who disconnect from a match before it’s over. As they explain, if you’re found to leave matches early, you’ll lose League Points and be locked out of online matchmaking for a set time.

“Since the initial Rage Quitting system rollout, we have seen a rapid decrease in rage quitting players, and we believe that this new update will reduce that number even further,” Capcom adds. “That being said, we’re still working on implementing a new, more robust system that will address the issue more completely by early next year.”

The new Rage Quitting penalty will be implemented in an update following server maintenance tomorrow, August 16 from 1pm PT/4pm ET to 7pm PT/10pm ET.

Looking ahead to September, Capcom will host the first Double Fight Money Event from September 2 – 4, offering double Fight Money earnings in Ranked Match. Expect more details as we get closer to the event.

Next month will also see the release of the September Update, which includes the following:

  • VS CPU Option
  • Daily Targets – Daily challenges with Fight Money rewards!
  • Fighter Profile Updates!
  • Free colors for Season Pass holders – Colors 3-10 for Default and Battle costumes of the 6 DLC characters
  • Premium costumes will now include colors! – Colors 3-10 of the purchased premium costume
  • Color bundles available for purchase via FM or Real Money – All 22 Characters’ Default & Story Costumes Color Pack 3-10

Other unannounced content for the September Update will be revealed closer to launch.

[Source: Capcom, SFV Server]