Destiny Offline for Maintenance Today, August 16

August 16, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

destinyscreenshot555x3281

Update:

The maintenance is extended until 1pm PT/4pm ET.

Today also sees the arrival of a new Destiny update enabling the Account Import.

Original Story:

In preparation of Rise of Iron on September 20, Bungie is taking Destiny offline for roughly three hours of maintenance today, August 16 on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, and Xbox 360.

Beginning at 9am PT/12pm ET, you’ll be unable to log into Destiny. Then, at 10am PT/1pm ET, players will be removed from activities as the servers go offline for maintenance. Bungie expects the maintenance to be over by 12pm PT/3pm ET.

During the maintenance period, Bungie will be hosting a Destiny: Rise of Iron livestream on Twitch starting at 10am PT/1pm ET. They’ll be showing off the new game modes, maps, and features coming to the Crucible during the stream, and will also debut a new Bungie ViDoc that will “explore the entire Rise of Iron player experience.”

Today also marks the official start of the Upgrade Program, which allows Legacy Console owners to upgrade their digital copy of Destiny: The Taken King to a PS4 or Xbox One copy of Destiny: The Collection for $40.

What will you be doing during the maintenance?

[Source: Bungie, Bungie Help]

Essential Reading: