Destiny Offline for Eight Hours of Maintenance Today, September 8

September 8, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

Destiny 01 555x328

To help get the game ready for update 2.4.0 (update: it’s now live), Bungie is taking Destiny offline for approximately eight hours of maintenance today, September 8, on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, and Xbox 360.

Beginning at 8am PT/11am ET/3pm UTC, you’ll be unable to log into Destiny. Then, at 9am PT/12pm ET/4pm UTC, players will be removed from activities as the Destiny servers go offline. Bungie expects the maintenance to be finished by 4pm PT/7pm ET/11pm UTC.

As for Destiny update 2.4.0 on PS4 and Xbox One, that will be available for pre-downloading during the maintenance, but you won’t be able to actually use it until Destiny is back online. Bungie adds, “Players that pre-download Destiny Update 2.4.0 during the server maintenance may still need to download and install a smaller part of the update after the maintenance has concluded to complete the installation of Destiny Update 2.4.0 on their consoles.”

We’ll have full details on update 2.4.0 in a separate post once it’s live, but for now, we know it makes the new in-game Clan Roster visible, but functionality won’t be implemented until a later date:

Preparing for In-Game Clan Rosters

With the release of Destiny Update 2.4.0, Destiny Clan features will also be taken offline in preparation for in-game Clan Roster functionality. Clan tags will not appear on player nameplates until functionality is restored. Bungie.net Clan enrollment and moderation functionality will not be impacted.

We will announce the return of Clan functionality at a later date through @BungieHelp. You can find additional information in this Help Article.

Sterling Treasures

Destiny Update 2.4.0, will also change the ways in which players acquire Sterling Treasures. Starting September 8th 2016, Players may only acquire one Sterling Treasure per week, through the Level 41 Prison of Elders playlist.

On September 20th 2016, with the launch of Destiny: Rise of Iron, the Eververse Trading Co. will no longer sell Sterling Treasure for Silver. Sterling Treasure will be replaced with Radiant Treasures, which contain Silver Dust, and all new Ornaments.

Additional information concerning Radiant Treasures, Dust, and Ornaments will become available upon the launch of Destiny: Rise of Iron on help.bungie.net.

What will you be doing while Destiny’s offline?

[Source: Bungie (1), (2), (3)]