The PSN Is Down Right Now for Some Users, Sony Confirms (Update)

October 14, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

psn555x3281

Update 3: The Infinite Warfare beta is now live.

Update 2: Sony now says the PSN is back up and running.

Update: Activision has announced that the Infinite Warfare beta is delayed, possibly due to the current PSN issues. “We have run into delays with the release of the Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare Beta on PlayStation 4, scheduled for release on 10/14 at 10:00 AM PT / 5:00 PM GMT,” they said. “We are actively working to launch the Beta as soon as possible.”

Original Story: After we experienced issues a little earlier today, Sony has updated their PlayStation Network Status Page to confirm that the PSN is down right now.

Saying gaming and social features on PS4, PS3, PS Vita, web, and more are affected right now, Sony adds, “You may have some difficulty launching games, applications, or online features. Our engineers are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and we thank you for your patience.”

PlayStation Europe says, “We are aware of issues affecting games, apps and online features. We’re working to resolve this ASAP.”

One reason for the PSN being down right now could be the Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare beta, which was supposed to open at 10am PT/1pm ET, but as Activision said at 10:10am PT, “The #IWBeta wil be up shortly. Please stay tuned. We’re excited for everyone to start playing soon.”

It’s also possible yesterday’s PlayStation VR launch and today’s PlayStation Store Flash Sale have added to the amount of people trying to use the PSN right now.

Stay tuned for more updates on the status of the PSN.

Is the PSN down for you right now?

[Source: PSN Status Page, Call of Duty]