Steep Review Copies Are Going Out on Launch Day to Ensure the Servers Are Populated

November 29, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

Because they want to ensure reviewers have access to Steep’s “essential multiplayer functionality with a larger pool of online players,” Ubisoft has announced that review copies won’t be going out until launch day on Friday, December 2.

Although you’re able to explore the mountains of the open-world action sports game solo (Steep requires an internet connection), Ubisoft says the Open Beta showed that it’s best played with an active community:

As many of you saw from its recent Open Beta, Steep was built from the ground up as a social experience – one in which you share your adventures with friends and random players alike on the Alps, challenging each other to find the best lines, pull off the best tricks, and compete for top scores on the leaderboards. You’re always free to go solo and explore the mountains at your own pace when you play Steep, but the success of its open beta reaffirmed that it’s best experienced with an active community.

To ensure a complete experience, Steep reviews will commence when servers are populated with actual players. With that in mind, reviewers will receive their copies of Steep on December 2 when it’s released, enabling them to experience Steep’s essential multiplayer functionality with a larger pool of online players.

Even if you manage to snag a copy of Steep before launch day, the servers won’t go live until 12am PT/3am ET/9am CET on Friday, December 2.

If you pre-ordered Steep digitally for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, or PC (through the UPlay store), pre-loading will begin on Wednesday, November 30 at 9am PT/12pm ET/6pm CET.

To learn more about Steep, check out the above gameplay video from PlayStation Access.

[Source: Ubi Blog]