2-Hour PSN Maintenance Scheduled for February 26, 2017 (Update)

February 22, 2017Written by Jason Dunning

psn555x3282

Update 2 (February 23): Sony now says the PSN maintenance on Sunday, February 26 will run for two hours, from 8pm PT until 10pm PT.

Update: Sony has removed all mention of the maintenance from their PSN Status Page. We’ll let you know if they announce a new date.

Original Story: In a new update on the PlayStation Network Status Page, Sony has announced that the PSN will be undergoing 10.5 hours of maintenance beginning at 5pm PT/8pm ET on Sunday, February 26. It’s expected to end at 3:30am PT/6:30am ET on Monday, February 27.

During next week’s PSN maintenance – which affects PS4, PS3, PS Vita, and the online store – you’ll be unable to access Gaming and Social, PlayStation Music, PlayStation Video, PlayStation Now, and Account Management. You should still be able to log in to your PSN profile and use most applications during the maintenance.

Sony didn’t explain why they’re doing such a lengthy maintenance this time around.

As always, Sony suggests activating your PS4 as your primary console before the maintenance begins by going to Settings > PlayStation Network/Account Management > Activate as Your Primary PS4 > Activate.

They add, “We strive to ensure that PlayStation Network services are available at all times, but occasionally we must take PlayStation Network offline to perform essential maintenance and implement feature enhancements. We are working hard to reduce the duration of each maintenance.”

If Sony releases PS4 update 4.50 during the maintenance, or if they add any new features, we’ll let you know.

[Source: PSN Status Page]