Destiny Servers Offline Today for Approximately Four Hours (Update)

May 17, 2017Written by Jason Dunning

Destiny Rise of Iron Supremacy mode Preview

Update (1pm PT/4pm ET): Bungie Help says, “Destiny server maintenance has been completed. Bungie.net and Companion App functionality has also been restored.”

Original Story: Beginning at 10am PT/1pm ET today, Bungie will take the Destiny servers offline on all consoles for approximately four hours due to scheduled maintenance. “This server maintenance period will not introduce any content changes or gameplay impact,” Bungie adds.

In addition to being unable to access Destiny during the maintenance period, sign-in functionality and Destiny Companion services on the Mobile App, Bungie.net, and third-party sites may be also be restricted.

The Destiny 2 gameplay reveal is happening tomorrow, May 18 at 10am PT/1pm ET on Twitch, and the whole thing is expected to last for an hour. There will also be a pre-show countdown beginning at 9am PT/12pm ET that includes behind-the-scenes interviews.

We’ll be at the gameplay reveal event, so expect hands-on coverage from us soon.

Destiny 2 releases on September 8 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC, and will have at least two post-launch expansions.

Will you be watching the gameplay reveal live?

[Source: Bungie (1), (2), (3), DeeJ (1), (2)]