The PSN Maintenance Today, August 14, Is Only 30 Minutes Long

August 14, 2017 Written by Jason Dunning

PSN Maintenance

Sony has followed through on their goal to “reduce the duration of each maintenance,” as this month’s PlayStation Network maintenance is only 30 minutes long. It will take place later today, August 14, from 7pm PT/10pm ET until 7:30pm PT/10:30pm ET.

Affecting PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Vita, and the PlayStation Store website, here’s what to expect from today’s planned PSN maintenance:

Routine maintenance and improvements for PlayStation Network will be performed for approximately 0.5 hours on 08/14/2017, 7:00 PM [PT] to 08/14/2017, 7:30 PM [PT]. Anyone who already has an account can still sign in to their PlayStation Network profile, play games, and use most applications while this maintenance is carried out. You will not be able to access PlayStation Video, PlayStation Store, and Account Management during this maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience.

As always, Sony recommends activating your PS4 as your primary console by going to [Settings] > [PlayStation Network/Account Management] > [Activate as Your Primary PS4] > [Activate].

It remains to be seen if this maintenance is being done to help prep for PS4 update 5.0, which is set to enter beta this month. Some of the reported features in 5.0 include improved account following, an upgraded Quick Menu that lets you view the status of downloads, and 1080p/60fps Twitch streaming on PS4 Pro.

[Source: PlayStation Network Status Page]