Bandai Namco Publishes Teaser of a New Super Robot Wars

November 24, 2017Written by Kite Stenbuck

Super Robot Wars reveal event

Bandai Namco has posted a teaser for a Super Robot Wars live stream that will deliver new information on the popular series that has been featuring numerous mecha anime shows. It will be held on December 11 at 21:00 JST (UTC+9), which means 12:00 GMT, 07:00 Eastern Time, and 04:00 Pacific Time.

While a live stream link has been prepared at Niconico Live, Bandai Namco also plans to stream the show at the more accessible YouTube Live. However, no URL is available for the latter as of yet. Details on the event are still scarce on the Japanese webpage, although Takanobu Terada, the producer of Super Robot Wars series, has been slated to make an appearance.

Curiously, Bandai Namco SEA has also tweeted that there will be a special SRW reveal on the same day at 21:00 UTC+8, which would probably mean one hour into the above live stream. This announcement from the Southeast Asian branch is very significant though, as it might hint a new full-fledged SRW game that will come to PlayStation 4 with an English localization for Southeast Asia.

Super Robot Wars is a series that has many difficulties on localizations to the West due to the extensive licensing required for the numerous mecha IPs that are featured in the games. The only games that received actual Western localizations were Super Robot Wars Original Generations 1 and 2 on Game Boy Advance. However, in the recent years, Bandai Namco has considered Southeast Asia as a potential market, where most people in the region play games in English.

Thanks to the easier licensing processes for Asia, recently Bandai Namco has been releasing Asian English versions of games like Super Robot Wars Original Generations: The Moon Dwellers and Super Robot Wars V on the PS4, so we are anticipating another brand-new SRW game to be released in a similar fashion as well.

[Source: Bandai Namco]