LEGO The Hobbit Confirmed for Spring 2014 Release on PS4, PS3, PS Vita, and More

A leaked image last week suggested that this would be happening, and now Warner Bros. has confirmed that LEGO The Hobbit will be releasing in Spring 2014 for the PS4, PS3, PS Vita, Xbox One, Xbox 360, Wii U, 3DS, PC, and Mac.

LEGO The Hobbit will follow the storyline of the first two Hobbit movies, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey and The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug, allowing you to join up with Bilbo Baggins, Gandalf the Grey, and Thorin Oakenshield and Company as they travel toward the Dwarven Kingdom of Erebor.

You’ll be able to play as the following character throughout LEGO The Hobbit, with each having their own special abilities (for example, Bombur can be used as a trampoline to “belly-bounce” people out of danger):

  • Bilbo
  • Gandalf
  • Thorin
  • Fíli
  • Kíli
  • Óin
  • Glóin
  • Dwalin
  • Balin
  • Bifur
  • Bofur
  • Bombur
  • Dori
  • Nori
  • Ori

For locations, you can expect to visit Bag End, the High Pass over The Misty Mountains, Goblin-town, Mirkwood, and Rivendell. There will also be puzzles, Treasure Quests, gem mining, fighting with Orcs, Trolls, and more, and the ability to craft items or structures.

Do you think LEGO The Hobbit is a good idea? Will the LEGO games ever end? Let us know in the comments below.