Details on Rock Band 4 Expansion, Rock Band Rivals

Harmonix has announced a new expansion for Rock Band 4Rock Band Rivals, which includes two brand new features for the title: Rockudrama and Rivals Mode.

Rockudrama is a “playable rock documentary” for players and their friends to form a bona fide band and star in a fictional, “reality” TV show called Beneath the Tuneage. The show appears to have everything you would expect from a reality show, including a narrator, live interviews with people your band has impacted, and clips of “ridiculous experiences” from your band’s rise to fame. The Rockudrama will also introduce new venues, Rock Shop items, and gameplay challenges. 

The announcement trailer for this part of the Rock Band Rivals expansion is below.

Rivals Mode is a new form of competitive multiplayer that will pit your Crew against rival Crews in online weekly challenges and leaderboards. Rivals Mode will include Quickplay, Rockudrama, or Shows mode, so anything your band or just you prefers will contribute to your Crew’s progress.

Harmonix also already has a list of preorder incentives for the expansion, which includes an in-game cheeseburger shirt and golden sword guitar. The following tracks will also tack on to any preorders:

  • Bring Me The Horizon –“Happy Song”
  • Capital Cities –“Safe and Sound”
  • Eagle-Eye Cherry –“Save Tonight”
  • Pharrell Williams –“Happy“
  • The Neighbourhood –“Sweater Weather”
  • Of Monsters And Men –“Little Talks”
  • Semisonic –“Closing Time”
  • Sia –“Chandelier”
  • Skillet –“Feel Invincible”
  • Weezer –“King of the World”

PDP will also have new hardware bundles, including a new foldable guitar bundle for $89.99 that includes Rock Band 4 and a code for the expansion. There is also a complete Rock Band 4 kit bundle for Xbox One or PlayStation 4 that includes the game, expansion code, guitar, drum kit, and microphone for $199.99.

Rock Band Rivals for Rock Band 4 will release October 2016.

[Sources: Harmonix Blog, Twitter 1, 2]