PSLS.net Home

Today’s PSN Maintenance Scheduled to End 2 Hours Later Than Planned

December 9, 2013 Written by Jason Dunning

psnmaintenancedog

The PSN maintenance that’s been going on since this morning in North America was supposed to end at 2PM PST/5PM EST, but the PlayStation Support website has updated to reveal that the maintenance was delayed by a couple of hours, and will now end at 4PM PST/7PM EST:

This maintenance will occur during the following timeframe [all times are approximate and subject to change]:

  • Maintenance Start: Monday, December 9th, 2013 11:00 AM PT
  • Maintenance End: Monday, December 9th, 2013 4:00 PM PT

During this maintenance period, you may receive a message that states “Sony  Entertainment Network is undergoing maintenance” when attempting to access the PlayStation Store or PlayStation Home. If you have signed in to PSN within 5 days prior to the start of maintenance, you may be able to play games online and enjoy apps such as Netflix, HULU Plus and Music Unlimited during this maintenance period.

Note: During our current maintenance some authenticated users may have lost access. We apologize for this inconvenience and are working hard to restore access as soon as possible.

So, you will have to wait a little while longer for the PSN to return to normal, but remember that the end result of this maintenance is being able to register three handheld devices to your PSN account.

For those of you in Europe, it appears your scheduled end time of 12AM GMT on December 10th remains unchanged.

Over on Twitter, a short conversation was struck up via Shuei Yoshida’s Twitter account, with Shuhei agreeing that PSN maintenance is “very last gen.” When he was asked if there was a chance of this changing, Shuhei replied, “Already less frequent and shorter, keeping online gaming up, etc. always improving.”

[Via]