PSN Down Across PS4, PS3 & PS Vita, Sony Confirms (Update)

January 4, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

psndown

Update 3 (3:15 a.m. ET):

PSN is now back up and running and has been so for at least a few hours. We didn’t want to jump the gun, but it’s fixed now. The PSN Status page states “All services are up and running.”

Carry on and game, everyone!

Update 2 (1:30pm PT/4:30pm ET):

The PSN is still down, with PlayStation Europe now saying, “We’re aware that some users are having trouble accessing PSN. Thanks for your patience as we investigate.”

Update (12pm PT/3pm ET):

The PSN is still down across all platforms and services, with Ask PlayStation saying, “We’re aware that some users are having trouble accessing PSN. Thanks for your patience as we investigate.”

Original Story:

According to the PlayStation Network Status Page, the PSN is down across all platforms and services.

With PSN down reports spiking around 8am PT/11am ET, Sony has updated their Status Page to confirm the following services are down on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Vita, and other platforms:

Account Management

You may have some difficulty signing in or creating an account on PlayStation Network. Our engineers are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and we thank you for your patience.

Gaming and Social

You may have some difficulty launching games, applications, or online features. Our engineers are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and we thank you for your patience.

PlayStation Now

You may have some difficulty streaming PlayStation Now games. Our engineers are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and we thank you for your patience.

PlayStation Video

You may have some difficulty accessing PlayStation Video content. Our engineers are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and we thank you for your patience.

PlayStation Vue

You may have some difficulty accessing some channels and features in PlayStation Vue. Our engineers are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and we thank you for your patience.

PlayStation Store

You may have some difficulty accessing features and products on the PlayStation Store. Our engineers are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and we thank you for your patience.

PlayStation Music

You may have some difficulty accessing PlayStation Music content. Our engineers are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible, and we thank you for your patience.

Many people are reporting that they’re receiving a maintenance notification when trying to access certain features.

We’ll keep an eye on the situation and let you know if any updates.

Have you been experiencing any issues?

[Source: PSN Status Page, Down Detector]

Essential Reading: