Mortal Kombat Website Accidentally Leaks Chunk of Unrevealed Roster

December 7, 2010Written by Kishen Patel

The Mortal Kombat series is undoubtedly one of the most memorable video game series in the industry, thanks to its gratuitous violence that led to the foundation of the ESRB. With over 26 million units sold over a course of eight installments, there is no denying the popularity of the Midway (now NetherRealm Studios) franchise.

NetherRealm Studios has already reportedly been working on the ninth installment of the arcade fighting franchise but, at this point, very little information is known about the title besides the 2011 release date and the various trailers showcasing the game. However, inadvertently leaked on the Mortal Kombat site for the iPod Touch/iPhone was a series of voice and music introductions for the characters of Mortal Kombat 9. Listed below are the characters that were confirmed via the leak:

  • Ermac
  • Goro
  • Human Sektor
  • Kabal
  • Noob Saibot
  • Quan Chi
  • Shang Tsung
  • Sindel
  • Smoke
  • Stryker

The website that spilled the beans has since been taken offline but, luckily, a few extra details were picked up from the, now removed, content. Clips were seen from the 2011 Mortal Kombat showcasing the “Test Your Might” and “Brutality” finishing moves. While these were indeed audio assets from the developer’s website, keep in mind that an official announcement or reveal has not been made. After all, they might end up having to cut some of the content.

There is a chance of some officially announced details regarding the next Mortal Kombat for the PS3 at this weekend’s Spike TV Video Game Awards. As always, stay connected to PlayStation LifeStyle for the latest on anything PlayStation.