Here’s all the 14th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards Winners

March 20, 2014Written by Jason Dunning


Last night, the 14th annual Game Developers Choice Awards were held in San Francisco at GDC, with the winners voted on by over 2,200 “leading game creators from all parts of the video game industry.”

Meggan Scavio, General Manager of the Game Developers Conference, had this to say about the awards:

There were so many amazing and diverse games this year, ranging from the massive world of Grand Theft Auto V, to the heartbreaking and visceral game The Last of Us, to the thought-provoking Papers, Please. All the GDCA winners and nominees took risks that paid off in brilliant gameplay and unforgettable moments. It’s an amazing time for gaming, and we’re proud to recognize titles with mature narratives and innovative gameplay that are truly pushing the medium forward.

Here’s the list full list of winners from the Game Developers Choice Awards, which, surprisingly, doesn’t have The Last of Us taking home every award:

  • Best Downloadable Game – Papers, Please (Lucas Pope)
  • Innovation Award – Papers, Please (Lucas Pope)
  • Best Visual Art – BioShock Infinite (Irrational Games/2K Games)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Ken “Father of the PlayStation” Kutaragi
  • Ambassador Award – Anita Sarkeesian
  • Pioneer Award – Brandon Beck and Marc Merrill of Riot Games
  • Best Technology – Grand Theft Auto V (Rockstar North/Rockstar Games)
  • Best Handheld/Mobile Game – The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds (Nintendo EAD/Nintendo)
  • Best Audio – BioShock Infinite (Irrational Games/2K Games)
  • Best Debut – The Fullbright Company (Gone Home)
  • Audience Choice Award – Kerbal Space Program (Squad)
  • Best Game Design – The Last of Us (Naughty Dog/Sony)
  • Best Narrative – The Last of Us (Naughty Dog/Sony)
  • Game of the Year – The Last of Us (Naughty Dog/Sony)

Does seeing Papers, Please keep winning awards make you want the game on PlayStation even more? Let us know in the comments below.