The Witcher 3 Takes Home Game of the Year at the 16th Annual GDC Awards, Here’s All the Winners

Last night at the 16th annual Game Developers Choice Awards, The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt won Game of the Year, Todd Howard took home the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Satoru Iwata was honored with the above tribute video.

Here’s the full list of winners (you can see all the nominees over here):

  • Best Debut – Moon Studios (Ori and the Blind Forest)
  • Best Audio – Crypt of the NecroDancer (Brace Yourself Games)
  • Innovation Award – Her Story (Sam Barlow)
  • Best Technology – The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt (CD Projekt RED)
  • Best Visual Art – Ori and the Blind Forest (Moon Studios)
  • Best Narrative – Her Story (Sam Barlow)
  • Best Design – Rocket League (Psyonix)
  • Best Handheld/Mobile Game – Her Story (Sam Barlow)
  • Audience Award – Life is Strange (DONTNOD Entertainment)
  • Game of the Year – The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt (CD Projekt RED)
  • Pioneer Award – Markus “Notch” Persson
  • Ambassador Award – Tracy Fullerton
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Todd Howard

Meggan Scavio, GDC General Manager, said:

The world of video games can include every imaginable and unimaginable experience, from the vast world of The Witcher 3, to the intimate interrogations in Her Story, and the Choice Awards have evolved to honor this diversity of titles. All of these winning and nominated titles have expanded what we think what games can be, how to maturely handle story, and how to make games that are ridiculously fun. I’m excited to see all of these wonderful developers recognized for their amazing contributions, and I congratulate all of this year’s winners and nominees.

The GDC Awards was created for and voted on by developers. Winners are chosen by the Game Developers Choice Awards-specific International Choice Awards Network (ICAN), which is an invitation-only group of leading game creators from across the industry.

[Source: GDC]