PSLS  •  News

Inaugural Women in Games Awards Ceremony Unveils Winners

The results are in, and MCV’s inaugural Women in Games ceremony has unveiled its winners for 2016. 

Among those who recognized for their work in the UK games industry were Jo Twist, CEO of trade network UKIE, who took home the Outstanding Contribution gong. Deborah Bestwick, meanwhile, CEO of Team17, earned Businesswoman of the Year. Here’s the winners who earned MCV’s special accolades: 

Rising Star: Karen Stanley, Environment Artist Sony London Studios

Businesswoman of the Year: Debbie Bestwick, CEO, Team17

Creative Impact: Siobhan Reddy, Co-Founder, Media Molecule

Unsung Hero: Tanya Laird, Director, Digital Jam

Campaigner: Kirsty Payne, VP, SpecialEffect

Outstanding Contribution: Dr Jo Twist, CEO, UKIE

Elsewhere, the first-ever ceremony championed the Top 30 Women in Games. They are as follows:

Debbie Bestwick – CEO, Team 17

Katherine Bidwell – Co-Founder, State of Play

Emily Britt – Consumer Marketing Director, Pokemon Company

Noirin Carmody – Co-Founder, Revolution; Chair, UKIE

Cat Channon – Director of PR, WB Games

Jo Cooke – Director of Marketing, Frontier Developments

Jessica Curry – Composer/Studio Head, The Chinese Room

Rosemarie Dalton – International Marketing Manager, Bethesda Softworks

Angela Dickson – Sales Director, Activision

Amanda Farr – Head of Content & Services, Xbox

Gina Jackson – MD, Next Gen Skills Academy

Charlotte Knight – UK Retail MD, GAME

Nina Kristensen – Co-Founder, Ninja Theory

Veronique Lallier – VP European Publishing, Hi-Rez Studios

Roberta Lucca – Co-Founder, Bossa Studios

Keza MacDonald – Editor, Kotaku

Caroline Miller – MD, Indigo Pearl

Kat Osman – MD, Lick PR

Kirsty Payne – VP, Special Effect

Rhianna Pratchett – Scriptwriter

Siobhan Reddy – Co-Founder, Media Molecule

Helena Santos – Lead Programmer, Modern Dream Games

Sarah Seaby – European Marketing & PR Director

Fiona Sperry – Founder, Three Fields Entertainment

Giselle Stewart OBE – Director of Corporate Affairs, Ubisoft

Dr Maria Stukoff – Head of Academic Development, PlayStation

Timea Tabori – Engine Programmer, Rockstar North

Dr Siobhan Thomas – Head of Games Courses, London South Bank University

Dr Jo Twist – CEO, UKIE

Catherine Woolley – Senior Games Designer, Creative Assembly

Tell us, what do you make of the winners? 

[Source: MCV UK]