Devil May Cry HD Collection Will be 1080p, but Not 4K

Capcom recently announced the Devil May Cry HD Collection for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC, which brings the first three titles of the series together similar to last year’s collection. Since it seems similar to the PlayStation 3 version of the collection, players may be wondering if there’s any upgrades to the current gen version of the collection. There are some upgrades, but the collection will not be supporting 4K.

USGamer received a short blurb about Devil May Cry HD Collection 4K from Capcom:

Capcom has told USgamer that there are no plans at the moment to add 4k support for Devil May Cry HD Collection. Instead, the new collection will run at 60fps in 1080p.

The 1080p graphics are an increase from last generation’s 720p, so we will be seeing an upgrade in that respect. Also, Capcom may eventually make the HD Collection 4K in the future, but it’s best not to get our hopes up.

New to the Devil May Cry series? Here are the titles that’ll show up in the HD Collection:

Devil May Cry (2001)

This is the one that started it all, starring a mature and subdued Dante, which matched the mood and tempo of the game’s sense of isolation during the exploration sequences and tough-as-nails boss battles. It’s also the game that inspired my favorite TV game ad of all time:

Devil May Cry 2 (2003)

Taking place after the events of the first Devil May Cry, this sequel strives for a more cinematic look and feel to combat, changing things up in how the camera behaves, but also taking extreme care to make the animations more natural and fluid. Plus, you can unlock and play as Trish, featuring her own unique weapons and move set.

Devil May Cry 3: Special Edition (2006)

Focusing on the origins of our favorite demon hunter, this prequel features a much younger and more rambunctious Dante who cares very little about how much damage he’s doing to even his own shop as long as he can chew his pizza and kick some butt. And he runs out of pizza.

Devil May Cry HD Collection will release on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC on March 13.

[Source: USGamer]