For Honor Review Copies Going Out at Launch, Open Beta Pre-Loading Begins

February 6, 2017 Written by Jason Dunning

In an email sent to Hardcore Gamer, Ubisoft revealed that For Honor review copies won’t be accessible until launch day, February 14. This is because For Honor requires an internet connection and the servers will be reserved for the Open Beta, which runs from February 9 to 12.

If you want to participate in the Open Beta, pre-loading has begun on PlayStation 4 (in Europe; North American pre-load should be up soon), Xbox One, and PC. According to the European PlayStation Store, the Open Beta is a 20.4GB download and requires a PlayStation Plus membership.

Answering some questions about the Open Beta, Ubisoft said it begins at 6am PT/9am ET on February 9 and runs through February 12 at 2pm PT/5pm ET. Anyone who participated in the Closed Beta will only need to download a small update (out today) to play in the Open Beta.

“This Open Beta comprises a limited portion of the game and is a work in progress – it’s not the full nor the final game,” Ubisoft added. “For Honor will include more Heroes, more modes – including a full-fledged story mode, more maps and more features when the game launches on February 14th, 2017.”

Pre-loading for the full For Honor game will likely begin a day or two before release. As the EU PlayStation Store shows, the digital version requires at least 35GB of free space.

Will you be playing For Honor this weekend?

[Source: PlayStation Store (1), (2), Hardcore Gamer, Ubisoft Forums]