Dragon Age Inquisition Takes Home Game of the Year at the SXSW Gaming Awards

March 16, 2015Written by Jason Dunning


Having previously won Game of the Year at the Game Awards, Dragon Age Inquisition also took home GOTY honors last night at the SXSW Game Awards, beating out Bayonetta 2, Dark Souls 2, Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor, and Shovel Knight.

Elsewhere, Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor took home three awards, including Excellence in Gameplay, while Ellie won for Most Valuable Character in The Last of Us: Left Behind.

Here’s the full list of winners:

  • Game of the Year – Dragon Age Inquisition
  • Mobile Game of the Year – Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft
  • Table Top Game of the Year – Star Realms
  • Most Valuable Character – Ellie, The Last of Us: Left Behind
  • Most Valuable Add-On Content – The Last of Us: Left Behind
  • Excellence in Gameplay – Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor
  • Excellence in Animation – Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor
  • Excellence in Design and Direction – Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor
  • Excellence in Art – Child of Light
  • Excellence in Technical Achievement – Destiny
  • Excellence in Visual Achievement – Far Cry 4
  • Excellence in Sound Effects – Alien: Isolation
  • Excellence in Narrative – The Wolf Among Us
  • Excellence in Musical Score – Transistor
  • Excellence in Multiplayer – Super Smash Bros Wii U
  • Excellence in Convergence – South Park: The Stick of Truth
  • Most Valuable Online Channel – Rooster Teeth
  • Most Anticipated Crowdfunded Game – Star Citizen
  • Matthew Crump Cultural Innovation Award – This War of Mine
  • Gamer’s Voice Award – Speedrunners

Follow the links to find out the winners from the BAFTAs, Game Developers Choice Awards, and our Game of the Year 2014 award.

Do you agree with Dragon Age’s victory?

[Source: SXSW Game Awards via Polygon]