F1 2017 Will Feature Alonso’s 2006 Championship Winning Renault

F1 fans, Codemasters and publisher Deep Silver have announced that Fernando Alonso’s championship winning 2006 Renault will be in F1 2017! You can watch the classic car’s reveal in the video above.

2006 Renault R26 – Driven by Fernando Alonso and Giancarlo Fisichella, the R26 scored eight wins out of 18 races, with seven pole positions and five fastest laps, leading for more laps and winning more races than any other car in 2006. It helped Alonso win his second Drivers’ Championship and Renault to claim their second Constructors’ Championship in succession.

The press release also adds that more classic cars will be unveiled “in the coming weeks.” The list of classic cars currently known can be seen below, with three more cars set to be revealed before F1 2017’s August 25 release date.

  • 1988 McLaren MP4/4
  • 1992 Williams FW14B
  • 1995 Ferrari 412 T2
  •  1996 Williams FW18
  • 2002 Ferrari F2002
  • 2004 Ferrari F2004
  • 2006 Renault R26
  •  2007 Ferrari F2007
  • 2010 Red Bull Racing RB6

Once we get wind of the three other cars, we’ll be sure to let our racing fans know right away.

F1 2017 will race out for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC this August 25.