PSLS.net Home

EU PSN Going Down For at Least Two Hours For More Maintenance Tomorrow [Update: US Too]

August 1, 2012 Written by Sebastian Moss

Sony has announced that tomorrow the PSN is going to do what it does best – go down for maintenance.

The platform holder revealed on the EU forums that “there is PSN Maintenance scheduled for Thursday 2nd August from 08:00 to 10:00 BST”.

For the duration of the maintenance Account Management and the PS Store will be unavailable. Some users will also be unable to log into the PlayStation Network. PlayStation Home will also be unavailable during the maintenance.

Sadly, they added that “there may be some additional downtime after the maintenance period for testing purposes”, so the PSN could be down for a longer time period as a result. So far, the downtime has only been confirmed for Europe, although the US Sony guys aren’t always as open about maintenance.

Last week, the PSN went down for maintenance worldwide on Thursday, and then went down again on Friday for a ton of people, despite not being scheduled maintenance.

Sony has declined to do an interview with PSLS about the numerous maintenance periods and crashes that have affected the PSN this year.

Update:

Just as we suspected, the downtime has spread to the US, with Matthew Harper, Sr. Manager, PlayStation Digital Platforms saying on the PS Blog:

To ensure that we can keep offering you the best online games experience, we will be performing routine maintenance on the PSN this evening (Thursday, August 2nd). This maintenance will start at approximately 12:00am midnight Pacific Time (1:00am MDT / 2:00am CDT /3:00 am EDT) and last for about two hours, ending around 2:00am PDT on Thursday, August 2nd (3:00am MDT / 4:00am CDT / 5:00am EDT). During this maintenance period you WILL be able to sign in to the Network if you have signed in at some point over the past few days. So please be sure to sign in now if you wish to access PSN during this maintenance window. Online play and apps will function as expected during this time. The PlayStation Store and Account Management will be unavailable for the duration of this maintenance.

Stick to PSLS to find out whether the downtime will bring any unforeseen bugs.