PSLS.net Home

PSN Going Down For Maintenance Tomorrow Morning in the US

August 22, 2012 Written by Sebastian Moss

So close. We almost made it a whole month with only one PSN maintenance period, but sadly it looks like we won’t make it as Sony has announced another round of downtime, although this time we can give them kudos for not choosing a peak gaming time.

Hi everyone,

We hope you’ve had the opportunity to check out the massive PlayStation Store update from yesterday, which included Counter Strike: GO, MGS 2 and 3 HD for both PS3 and PSVita, Dust 514 Beta Access for Plus Members, and more.

In order to continue bringing you the best online games experience, we will need to perform some routine maintenance on PSN beginning tomorrow morning (Thursday, August 23rd). This maintenance will start at approximately 9:00AM PDT (10:00AM MDT / 11:00AM CDT / 12:00 noon EDT) and last until around 4:00PM PDT (5:00PM MDT / 6:00PM CDT / 7:00PM EDT). Specifically during the first hour of this maintenance period, you may receive a maintenance notification when attempting to access PSN. The PlayStation Store and Account Management will not be available during the maintenance period but you WILL be able to access online play and apps provided that you have signed in to the Network at some point over the past few days. So please be sure to sign in now if you wish to access the Network during this maintenance window.

If you would like to receive a notice when PSN maintenance has ended, be sure to follow the official PlayStation Twitter account.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and thank you for your support.
Tempest_Fire
Digital Platforms Community Manager
Sony Computer Entertainment America

The downtime has currently only confirmed for the US, but it’s not unusual for maintenance to spread worldwide.

[Source]