Iron Banner Returns to Destiny on April 26 With Improved Gear Drop Chances

April 22, 2016Written by Jason Dunning

destinyironbannerapril26playstationarmor

In the latest This Week at Bungie, the developer revealed that Iron Banner Clash is returning to Destiny on Tuesday, April 26 at 10am PT/1pm ET, and will end on Tuesday, May 2 at 2am PT/5am ET.

With the recent April Update, Bungie made some changes to Iron Banner, and Designer Jeremiah Pieschl discussed the improvements to the reward experience:

Legendary Engrams are great and all, but if you’re playing Iron Banner, it’s more likely that you want some of that sweet Iron Banner gear. So you should expect to see more Iron Banner gear next week instead of Legendary Engrams. Iron Banner gear will now have a chance to drop after every match you play – no more waiting until Rank 2. Given that many players spend more time playing at lower ranks due to the tempered mechanic, it was important to make sure those earlier games were rewarding as well.

Also, to address the Fallen Walker in the room: Some of you were adamant that your reward experience wasn’t consistent with your fellow Guardians. We did some digging and uncovered a reward logic issue that blocked some of your rewards prior to Rank 5 in Iron Banner. That issue was resolved in the April Update.

As the Iron Banner patch notes in the April Update say, “Iron Banner Armor and Weapons can now be earned at Rank 0 at the end-of-activity” and “Rank 5 packages can now reward items from the current event.”

You can see the PlayStation armor reward in the above image.

[Source: Bungie]