Here’s a Preview of Next Week’s Destiny 2 Update 1.0.6, Brings Crucible Scoring Changes

Sometime next week, Bungie will be deploying Destiny 2 update 1.0.6 to fix the critical emote collision issue that caused Trials of the Nine to be canceled for two weeks. The emote exploit allowed players to glitch through walls and reach unintended areas of the game. This update will also be changing many of the scoring requirements in various Crucible modes in an effort to make them feel faster and more competitive, especially in cases where games can seem to drag on for too long. This isn’t everything that will be included in the patch, but Bungie has done a lot this week to be more transparent to players about what they are working on, including this preview of the coming update.

  • Fixed an issue with collision detection on the Bureaucratic Walk emote
  • Fixed an issue causing players to encounter empty public spaces too often in free roam
  • Updated Mercy Rule settings to allow Mercy to activate slightly later in the match, allowing a wider range of scores to trigger it.
  • Reduced score limit to 50 (was 75)
  • Reduced score limit to 90 (was 100)
  • Reduced influence that enemy-controlled zones exert over the spawning system
  • Reduced round time limit to 2 minutes (down from 3)
  • Reduced life count to 6 (down from 8)
  • Increased score-to-win to 70 (up from 50)
  • We now grant one point for defeating an enemy Guardian
  • Adjusted the influence that enemy crests have on the spawning system

Bungie also detailed numerous changes that they are working on for the Destiny 2 endgame. While I don’t think they’ll be deploying all of these updates into this coming patch, there’s certainly the possibility that we’ll see some of these critical changes to the endgame loot structure fixed sooner rather than later. There’s also an emote wheel on the way, which is something you’ll see many Destiny 2 players getting excited about.

Check out our Destiny 2 Leviathan Raid guide to see how best to handle Calus’ challenges on the normal difficulty mode. Not ready for the Raid? Our Destiny 2 endgame guide covers how to get yourself leveled up after the campaign is over.

[Source: Bungie]