Golden Joystick Awards 2021

Resident Evil: Village Takes Home Four Awards at the Golden Joysticks, Including Ultimate Game of the Year

With December fast approaching, many outlets are now thinking about their game of the year awards. One of the first to go ahead with these is GamesRadar and their Golden Joystick Awards. While a total of 14 games earned a variety of awards across the categories, the biggest winner of the night was Resident Evil Village, which took home four awards.

Resident Evil Village won Best Audio and PlayStation Game of the Year, as well as the Ultimate Game of the Year. Lady Dimitrescu actress Maggie Robertson also won Best Performer, bringing Village’s total to four. The only other game to win multiple awards was Final Fantasy XIV, which grabbed the Best Game Community and Still Playing awards. Sony also had a fairly good night as Insomniac’s Ratchet and Clank: Rift Apart got Best Visual Design and Sucker Punch’s Ghost of Tsushima: Iki Island won Best Game Expansion. The PlayStation 5 console got Best Gaming Hardware while Housemarque won the Breakthrough Award. The full list of winners can be seen below:

Golden Joystick Award Winners 2021

  • Best Storytelling Life is Strange: True Colors
  • Best Multiplayer GameIt Takes Two
  • Best AudioResident Evil: Village
  • Best Visual DesignRatchet and Clank: Rift Apart
  • Best Game ExpansionGhost of Tsushima: Iki Island Expansion
  • Mobile Game of the YearLeague of Legends: Wild Rift
  • Best Gaming Hardware – PlayStation 5
  • Best Indie GameDeath’s Door
  • Studio of the Year – Capcom
  • Best Performer – Maggie Robertson (Lady Dimitrescu)
  • Breakthrough Award – Housemarque
  • Best Game CommunityFinal Fantasy XIV
  • Still Playing AwardFinal Fantasy XIV
  • PC Game of the YearHitman 3
  • Nintendo Game of the YearMetroid Dread
  • Xbox Game of the YearPsychonauts 2
  • PlayStation Game of the YearResident Evil Village
  • Most Wanted GameElden Ring
  • Critics Choice AwardDeathloop
  • Ultimate Game of the YearResident Evil Village
  • Ultimate Hardware of All Time – PC
  • Ultimate Game of All TimeDark Souls

With the timing of the awards leading to voting beginning on October 19 and ending on November 5, it does mean some late releases weren’t eligible for the 2021 awards. This includes Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy, Call of Duty: Vanguard, Forza Horizon 5, Battlefield 2042, Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition, and The Binding of Isaac: Repentance. All of these will be eligible for next year’s Golden Joystick Awards.

[Source: GamesRadar]