PSLS.net Home

PSN Maintenance Extended, Downtime Even Hitting Those That Had Signed in Before

January 17, 2013 Written by Sebastian Moss

Update 3: We are currently performing maintenance to upgrade the software for the PlayStation Network from January 17-19th. This maintenance is scheduled to end around 2:00am PDT (5:00am Eastern) Saturday January 19th.

Update 2: “Unfortunately PSN maintenance is still underway and service is now not expected to resume before tomorrow morning. We’ll update again soon.”

Update: Sony has announced that “We are currently not expecting service to resume before 10.00pm GMT” in Europe and “tonight” in the US.

Kicking off the new year with a bang, Sony decided to bring down the PSN for 12 hours while they did some maintenance. But if you signed in since Tuesday, you were set to be able to still log on (just not to the store), and it was all going to be back to normal on 8:00 pm PST (9:00 pm MT, 10:00 pm CT, 11:00 pm ET). Unfortunately, the PSN is still down and some people who signed in since Tuesday aren’t able to get on.

PlayStation tweeted that the downtime will be extended, but stopped short of giving a concrete time:

PSN Maintenance update: Though estimated to end at 8pm PT tonight, maintenance has been extended to tomorrow AM. Updates as we get them.

Meanwhile Twitter is filled with people who logged on after Tuesday, but can’t sign on, and we’ve seen comments by users here at PSLS about being kicked off while playing online.

Even if you can log on, the store is still unavailable, which is rather annoying. But, maintenance is necessary for security, as noted by AVG’s Chief Research Officer, when we talked to him after the infamous PSN hack.

Are the downtimes a necessary evil you can put up with, or is it just too much? Rant or rationalize in the comments below.

While you’re bored, don’t forget to read today’s Daily Random.