Get Ready to Hunt, as the Monster Hunter: World Beta Kicks Off Next Week

December 1, 2017Written by Anthony Nash

monster hunter world beta

As the calendar turns to December, it’s time to get excited, as Capcom has officially given us a date on when we can hop onto the Monster Hunter: World beta, and it’s only about a week away! The beta will be begin on Saturday, December 9 and carry through until Tuesday, December 12, giving players three days to experience the world and hunt some monsters with their friends.

According to a post on the Capcom-Unity blog, players will be able to preload the beta starting on December 8, with the beta taking up about 5.9 GB of free space. For more specific information on the beta, check out below:

Start Time: December 9, 2017 at 9:00am PT / 5:00pm GMT / 6:00pm CET
End Time: December 12, 2017 at 8:59am PT / 4:59pm GMT / 5:59pm CET
Location: Your gaming room + the Internet
Requirements: Internet connection, PlayStation 4, PlayStation Plus subscription, 5.9 GB of free space, hunting spirit

According to Capcom, the beta features 3 quests across 2 different environments from the game. In the Ancient Forest, players can hunt a fierce, yet beginner-friendly Great Jargas, or if they’re ready for a challenge, they can confront the mighty Anjanath. In the Wildspire Waste – a massive, dry world with swamplands – players can face off against the intermediate level Barroth, a mud-slinger monster.

For some additional notes on the beta, including how the quests can be played, make sure to check out below, courtesy of Capcom:

Additional Notes: Each quest can be done solo or with up to three other players online, and you’ll be able to choose from 14 different weapon types based on your preferred playstyle, which you can now change during quests at camp. You can even try out each of them before heading out on a quest by visiting the series’ all-new Training Room, included in the beta! Potions and other supplies will be provided on quests during the beta, but you’ll have to fetch your own food and drinks outside the game for those long gameplay sessions.

And one final note – this beta is just a taste for what the quests will look and feel like in the full game. The beta features a game currently in development and some aspects about balance may be different from the full game, but the satisfaction of tracking and bringing down a giant monster you’ll find is all there.

Monster Hunter: World is set to launch on January 26, 2018.

[Source: Capcom]