Street Fighter V Update 1.04 Detailed, Cinematic Story Expansion Is a 7.6GB Separate Download

June 30, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

Capcom has announced that Street Fighter V update 1.04 will be available for PlayStation 4 and PC at 12am PT/3am ET/8am BST tomorrow, July 1.

Before the new update, Street Fighter V will undergo 10 hours of server maintenance beginning today at 2pm PT/5pm ET/10pm BST. The maintenance will end when the update goes live at 12am PT/3am ET/8am BST.

One of the biggest additions with update 1.04 is support for the Cinematic Story Expansion, which needs to be downloaded separately from the PlayStation Store. A 7.6GB file, it’s called A Shadow Falls and carries this description:

The Street Fighter V cinematic story expansion is divided into five acts and takes place between Street Fighter IV and Street Fighter III, bridging the events that happen in between the two stories. “A Shadow Falls,” depicts the ultimate battle between the evil Shadaloo organization and the heroic World Warriors who rise up against them. As the story unfolds, players will enter battles using each of the core 16 characters, in addition to the 6 (released and unreleased) 2016 DLC characters, each with their own unique contribution to the epic clash. “A Shadow Falls” is free downloadable content available to all players and it marks the first time in franchise history that consumers will be able to play through this type of cinematic experience in a Street Fighter game. The epic battle between good and evil begins soon… who will RISE UP?

Update 1.04 itself will include playable fighters Balrog and Ibuki, as well as everything you see below:

  • New stages – Balrog’s Las Vegas stage and Karin’s Kanzuki Family Private Beach stage are brand new and will be available to purchase using Fight Money or real currency. Additionally, three new alternate stage options will become available.
  • New costume options – Premium Battle Costumes for all 20 released characters, as well as Karin’s Premium Summer Costume, will be available to purchase using real currency. Balrog and Ibuki’s Story Costumes will be purchasable using either Fighter Money or real currency.
  • In-game Currency Shop – The in-game store will be upgraded with the PlayStation Store and Steam real money purchase options, for their respective platform. For players who want to purchase content like new characters, stages and costumes outright without using Fight Money, the process will be familiar with purchases happening through the established first party infrastructures.
  • Matchmaking improvements – Faster and smarter matching, resulting in higher quality matches and a better online experience overall.

New characters will cost 100,000 Fight Money or $ 5.99/€ 5.99/£4.99, while new stages will cost 70,000 Fight Money or $3.99/€3.99/£3.29.

If you don’t own Street Fighter V yet, it’s currently on sale in the North American PlayStation Store’s Mid-Year Sale.

[Source: Capcom, SFV Server (Twitter 1, 2)]