Destiny Offline for Maintenance Right Now, Paid XP Boosters Coming With Rise of Iron (Update)

September 15, 2016 Written by Jason Dunning

Update:

Destiny is back online.

Original Story:

After Destiny was offline for a good portion of the day last Thursday, Bungie has announced that they’ll be taking Destiny offline again today, though it should only be for a couple of hours.

Beginning now (7:30am PT/10:30am ET/2:30pm UTC), players will be unable to log into Destiny on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, and Xbox 360 as Bungie prepares for maintenance. Then, at 8am PT/11am ET/3pm UTC, players will be removed from activities as the servers go offline. If all goes according to plan, the maintenance will end by 9:30am PT/12:30pm ET/4:30pm UTC.

Bungie didn’t say why Destiny was undergoing more maintenance this week, but it’s likely prep for the Rise of Iron expansion next week. You can see the full launch trailer over here, or an abbreviated version above.

destiny-paid-boosters

When Rise of Iron launches on September 20 for PS4 and Xbox One, you’ll be able to buy experience boosters using Silver, the in-game currency you can buy with real world money, GameSpot reveals. These boosters “will provide increased rates of experience gain for Crucible, House of Judgement, and Vanguard,” and can also be earned via a randon drop from Sterling Treasure Boxes or Radiant Treasures, which can be earned in-game or bought with Silver.

To see all of our Rise of Iron coverage, head over here.

[Source: Bungie, Bungie Help, GameSpot]